I can help you with sales or purchases to/ from
local people. In Virginia, it is currently legal, under certain conditions, for Virginia citizens who are not dealers and not behaving as a dealer to buy or sell firearms from other Virginia residents who are not dealers.
However, going through an FFL helps elminate any seller liability selling a gun to an ineligible buyer
and the buyer to help ensure the purchase is not reported lost or stolen.
The terms of the sale are strictly between the buyer and
seller. I have no part of the bill(s) of sale, exchange of
money or goods, or any other agreement between the parties.
I transfer firearms to buyers who are US Citizens and Virginia residents ONLY.
I follow all BATF rules and regulations.
I DO NOT transfer firearms governed under the National
Firearms Act (NFA).
Documentation to Establish Identity and Residence
Both parties' identity and residency must be positively verified
to transfer a firearm. I require a valid Virginia Driver license
or a valid Virginia State Identification Card
and, for driver licenses, with a date of issue for an original or duplicate driver license at least 30 days before the current date.
Your valid Virginia driver license or state ID along with a change of address card from the Virginia DMV is valid.
Per Federal regulations, if your valid Virginia driver license does not list
your street address (e.g., a post office box) YOU MUST provide a second document issued by Virginia or a
Virginia local government (e.g., your county) that bears the exact same name as
the driver license and your current street address. Typically, your vehicle
registration issued by the Virginia DMV or your Virginia Voter Registration Card
will meet this requirement. A vehicle registration that does not have your
name (e.g., listing only your spouse's name) is NOT acceptable.
Please note - I do NOT
accept military ID's for any transfers.
Private Party Transfer Pricing
$28 for the first gun plus $5 for each subsequent gun
transferred at the same time, up to five guns total per
Transfer of two or more pistols within one week (7 calendar
days) incurs a $5 extra paperwork fee for forms required by the
Missed appointments without 24 hours notice are
subject to a $25 fee.
The mandatory Virginia State Police background check fee is
an additional $2.
For example, a transfer of a pistol is $30; the transfer of a pistol and a rifle is $35; the transfer of two pistols is $40.
Private Party Transfer Process
Complete the terms of your purchase/ sale with the other
Make an appointment with me for both of you to concurrently meet me.
My contact information is:
Joseph Picolla, Member
Bullseye Arms and Service LLC
220 Ashton Drive, SW
Leesburg, VA 20175 email@example.com
At our meeting, I will first collect and record identity
information from both parties.
A check is run to ensure the guns have not been reported lost or
The buyer will complete the transfer paperwork and I will
perform a background check.
If approved, the transfer information is entered in my
books, the buyer pays the transfer fees, and the transfer is complete.
The buyer leaves with the firearm(s).
If delayed and the seller wants to leave, the seller may take the firearm(s) with her/ him.
If approved, both parties must return to complete the transfer. The seller may also choose to
depart and leave the firearm(s) with me. Once approved,
the buyer pays the fees and I transfer the firearm to the buyer.
However, if the transfer is subsequently denied, per the ATF,
the seller pays transfer fees and must undergo a background check to get
the firearm(s) back from me.
and seller has not departed, the seller
departs with the firearm(s), the buyer pays the fees due, and
the buyer is given information how to follow-up with the State Police.
However, if the seller departed and left the firearm(s) with me,
per the ATF, the seller must pay transfer fees and undergo a background check to get
the firearm(s) back from me.
Click the button below for information about Denied Transfers.